PlayStation Online ID name change feature coming soon

Adjust Comment Print

Following on from the strong rumours last week, PlayStation Blog have confirmed that PSN Name changes are finally headed to the network with the functionality being tested in the Preview program.

Microsoft would in fact charge Xbox Live users a fee to change their name, which many players obliged to, but Sony were still reluctant. The first time you change your name, it will be free.

There's a few quirks to the upcoming feature that you should know about, especially if you're the sort of person who likes to dive into their library and play older games. While it'll work with every PS4 game published after April 1st, 2018 and should be compatible with the "large majority" of popular PS4 games released before then, some PS4, PS3 and PS Vita games might produce "issues or errors". For PlayStation Plus members, it will cost $5 USD/CAD / €4.99 / £3.99 after the first change.

If accepted, users will be able to change their online ID as many times as they'd like, with the first change being completely free.

To make the change, authorized users can access the feature through the Settings menu or via the Profile page of your PS4.

Moreover, there will be an option available to users when changing a PSN ID that will let them display the old ID next to their new one for easy recognition purposes.

Ballon D'Or 2018: Pogba reveals his three choices
Wales worldwide Gareth Bale , scorer of a brace in Real's European final win over Liverpool, is among the 10 names already released.

Another caveat is that the new feature won't be compatible with all games.

But don't worry, before the feature is officially rolled out PlayStation will publish a list of compatible games and applications.

If you were to run into multiple issues and wish to undo the change, you will be able to revert the change and go back to your original name.

You'll have the option to revert to your old name if you do have issues, but Shuman's exact words are that this will solve most issues.

The preview program for this feature is planned to conclude at the end of November 2018. There'll be a short wait after that, with the feature set to officially roll out for all users sometime in early 2019.

Comments