How to escape Google’s forced logins on Chrome 69

Adjust Comment Print

Users recently noticed that Chrome now automatically logs them in and out of the browser with their Google account if they log in or out of a Google web property, like Gmail.

The new feature is called account consistency and is created to provide a level of consistency between signed in services and the browser; as mentioned before, this is simply a display change, and the Chrome browser does not automatically sign in and sync with your other Chrome browsers.

Green wrote: "If you didn't respect my lack of consent on the biggest user-facing privacy option in Chrome, (and didn't even notify me that you had stopped respecting it!) why should I trust any other consent option you give me?"

If you want to make sure your web browsing history is not uploaded, open up Chrome's Settings page, and underneath your user name you'll see "Sync".

Google changed how logging into the browser works earlier this month: logging into any Google app now logs you in with Chrome as well. Will it prompt you to use another browser?

Chrome is among the most widely used browsers in the market. By logging users into Chrome robotically, Google has eliminated one of the crucial most friction for sharing their data.

Rate hike expected as Fed resumes policy meeting
In June, the last time the forecasts came out, a slim majority of the central bank's board wanted to do a December rate hike. The US Federal Reserve is widely expected to raise interest rates again at its regular meeting on Wednesday.

Google Chrome 69: Blame Google Sync for the Owl Job?

Lawrence addressed the misconception that Chrome sign-in also meant Google Sync being turned on and praised the changes in terms of security on shared devices.

Google's changes also made it easier for users to unwittingly turn over their browsing history to Google. As a matter of first importance, they are irate in light of the fact that they don't have this capacity to choose when they sign into their program, and second, they are furious in light of the fact that Google had neglected to educate them regarding this new move.

I tried and my Google account was still logged in while other accounts were logged out after removing cookies on Chrome. Google's Adrienne Porter Felt clarified in a series of tweets that the user would need to perform two extra clicks in order to start uploading their data to the cloud. This essentially means that the in-browser account fetches your Google details on its own, to enable the "Sync" feature. Chrome 69 was a major release for Google, coming with many new features, including a new user interface.

According to Felt, signing in to sync requires an additional step, which then uploads your browsing history to Google devices. The company also dumped Google as the browser's default search engine in France and Germany, replacing it with privacy-focused search tool Qwant. He noted that the privacy document could be summarised "as a promise that if you aren't logged in, data will only be stored locally, and if you are logged in, all bets are off". The user still has to make the conscious choice to sign in and sync their information.

Comments