FIFA FIFPro reveals 55 names for World11 2018

Adjust Comment Print

The XI will be unveiled by FIFA and FIFPro during the Best FIFA Football Awards ceremony in London on September 24.

Players were asked to pick one goalkeeper, four defenders, three midfielders and three attackers who excelled in the 2017-18 season.

FIFPro have announced their top 15 forwards in world football, as voted for by fellow professionals and there is a place for both Salah and Mane.

Cape Town - The 55-man shortlist for the FIFA FIFPro World XI was revealed on Monday after votes from 25 000 footballers in 65 countries.

The shortlist of goalkeepers, defenders and attackers is a who's who of world football talent, with David De Gea joining last year's victor Gianluigi Buffon on the keepers shortlist.

Liverpool boss Jurgen Klopp saw five of his current squad included after reaching their first Champions League final since 2005.

Hurricane Florence: South Carolina vs. Marshall matchup canceled due to storm
And the more it hovers just off shore - a distinct possibility - the more potentially deadly storm surge it pushes on-shore. Similar declarations were made earlier in North and South Carolina , Virginia, Maryland and the District of Columbia.

Chelsea duo Eden Hazard and N'Golo Kante are also on the list, as is Colombian defender Yerry Mina, who is on loan at Everton from Barcelona.

Real Madrid lead the way with 11 nominations, though there is no place for Gareth Bale.

Former Barcelona star Andres Iniesta is on the list for the 12th consecutive year.

Other defenders on the shortlist include England internationals Kyle Walker and Kieran Trippier, as well as World Cup winners Raphaël Varane and Samuel Umtiti.

The FIFPro World 11 has been announced every year since 2005 and under Rafa Benitez Liverpool players were included in the three years from 2007 to 2009.

Goalkeepers (5): Gianluigi Buffon (Italy/Paris Saint-Germain/Juventus), Thibaut Courtois (Belgium/Real Madrid/Chelsea), David De Gea (Spain/Manchester United), Keylor Navas (Costa Rica/Real Madrid), Marc-Andre ter Stegen (Germany/Barcelona).