Ellyse Perry, Danielle Wyatt excited about IPL-style women's T20 match

Adjust Comment Print

BCCI had earlier announced that Harmanpreet and opener Smriti Mandhana will be the captains, and the teams names have been announced as IPL Supernovas and IPL Trailblazers respectively.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India announced the squads for the upcoming Women's T20 Challenge Match on Thursday.

With an eye on growing this wave, the BCCI is hosting the T20 Challenge to provide the women's game a platform alongside its most popular tournament.

The one-off match will feature 26 players, including 10 global cricketers from Australia, England and New Zealand.

There is great news for Indian women cricketers.

OnePlus 6 India launch in Mumbai at 3 PM today
Powering the smartphone is Qualcomm's flagship chipset - Snapdragon 845 which is clocked up to 2.8GHz along with Adreno 630 GPU. The smartphone will be available in Midnight Black, Mirror Black, and Silk White Limited Edition colour variants .

Alyssa Healy, Australia's wicketkeeper-batter, Beth Mooney, Australia's opener, Suzie Bates, the veteran New Zealand all-rounder, are some of the global stars in the Trailblazers' set-up.

It is also a way to test waters for a women's IPL in near future. "Danni Wyatt and Daniel Hazell will add the English flavour". "We are planning to get a women's IPL in place in two to three years", CoA chief Vinod Rai told AFP.

The member of the Committee of Administration (COA) and former Indian woman cricketer Diana Edulji said that the domestic players, including Mithali Raj, Jhulan Goswami, Harmanpreet Kaur, Smriti Mandhana and Veda Krishnamurthy, will appear playing together in this match.

Women cricketers from the around the world will descend upon Mumbai on April 22 for the Indian Premier League-style women's T20 challenge match, ahead of the opening play-off game of the IPL. India ODI captain, Mithali Raj, will be a part of Harmanpreet's side.