BCCI announce squads for Women's T20 Challenge

Adjust Comment Print

The Supernovas boasts of a formidable line-up with Harmanpreet, India Women's T20 captain, leading the batting alongside Devine, Wyatt, Perry and an Indian contingent of Mithali Raj, Veda Krishnamurthy and Mona Meshram.

The Board of Cricket Control in India today announced the squads for the two women's teams IPL Supernovas and IPL Trailblazers.

White Ferns captain Suzie Bates, attacking batter Sophie Devine, who holds the record for fastest half-century in women's T20Is, Australia's fine all-rounder Ellyse Perry, wicket-keeper bat Alyssa Healy, Megan Schutt and Beth Mooney have confirmed their participation.

The match will kick start at 2.00 pm and will be followed by the IPL 2018 Qualifier 1. "Danielle Wyatt and Daniel Hazell will add the English flavour".

Dez Bryant doesn't regret passing up on Ravens' offer
As quarterback Dak Prescott's No. 1 option last season, Bryant finished with just 69 receptions for 838 yards and six touchdowns. Bryant, who played alongside Witten for his entire career, was recently cut by the Cowboys and remains unsigned.

The one-off encounter will have 26 players, which includes 10 worldwide players from Australia, New Zealand and England.

Diana Edulji, member of Committee of Administrators (CoA) and former India captain, had said at the time of announcement of the captains, "We are excited to announce the first-of-its-kind exhibition match involving our women cricketers".

India aim to launch a women's edition of the IPL in the next three years, a top BCCI official said.

Shedding more light on the goal of the match, for presenting a canvas for Women's T20 tournament in India, CoA chairman Vinod Rai stated, "This is being staged as a well-deserved exhibition to showcase the tremendous depth and capability that women's cricket in India has achieved". It is our endeavor that women cricketers also got the chance to play on a big platform like IPL.