Public Anger Against The BJP Evident, Says Opposition On Bypoll Debacle

Adjust Comment Print

Even some party MPs from the state said an alliance between the SP and the BSP in the next Lok Sabha elections will pose a very serious challenge.

While Praveen Nishad of SP won the Gorakhpur seat by 21,961 votes, party's candidate Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel defeated BJP's Kaushlendra Singh Patel by 59,460 votes in Phulpur LS bypoll. The alliance between bitter rivals-Samajwadi Party (SP) and Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP)-helped upstage the BJP. Thus, despite a potentially existential threat from the expansion of the BJP, the parties did not set about working together - even though the Rashtriya Janata Dal and the Janata Dal (United) had managed to turn that into a winning anti-BJP formula in Bihar in 2015, only for the Janata Dal (United) to break off the alliance previous year.

Alliance formation, however, will be a lot trickier in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections than they were in these bypolls.

In West Bengal TMC retained Uluberia seat, leaving the BJP in the second spot.

"In May 2014, the BJP won 282 Lok Sabha seats". Mr. Adityanath himself held the seat from 1998 to 2017.

TTV Dhinakaran launches 'Amma Makkal Munnetra Kazhagam'
That was the title by which late AIADMK supremo J Jayalalithaa was referred to in Tamil Nadu's political circles. So far, Mr Dhinakaran has addressed his faction AIADMK (Amma).

The BJP also lost the Araria Lok Sabha constituency and the Jehanabad assembly seat while scoring a consolation win in Bhabhua assembly seat in Bihar. "This is a mandate against both the Centre and state governments, people have come together to bring "bad days" for the BJP". It did not play any major role in reducing the sexual crimes against the women. The threat is that this win has increased Akhilesh and Mayawati's appetite for a future tie-up that can derail the BJP's plans for 2019.

The BJP should have taken some warning from its loss in the civic polls a year ago but had made light of it.

The BJP had won the two seats in 2014 by big margins of over three lakh votes.

Taking a veiled dig at the BJP, Trinamool Congress (TMC) chief Mamata Banerjee, another key face in the Opposition camp, congratulated BSP's Mayawati and SP chief Akhilesh Yadav on Twitter, saying the "beginning of the end has started (sic)".

It was a direct fight between the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance and the Grand Alliance of the RJD-Congress in Bihar, a year ahead of the next Lok Sabha battle. They said the family of the youth who were forced to leave exams voted against the BJP. On one hand it was Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath's parliamentary constituency, and on the other hand, it was Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya's seat, both important to the BJP. What still works in BJP's favour is its formidable electoral machinery, many foot soldiers and the fragmented character of the opposition.